WIMW – She’s got the blues

Finally! I know, it’s Friday, so technically this is Friday Fashion, but here is WIMW! It’s taken ages, because I’m not happy with the photos – they just don’t do the dress justice at all. Or the shoes.

So I had to take a few more. They weren’t great either, but they’ll have to do.

Last Saturday we were going to a ceilidh, Not my idea of fun, but my cousin’s 25th Wedding Anniversary party theme, so we joined in a few jigs. And the gorgeous overskirt fabric on this dress twirled perfectly!

I bought it from Ebay for £6.55 + £3.00 postage and it must be one of the best buys I’ve ever made on there.

It’s a 1970s, maxi, but not too long, in perfect condition, with an elasticated waist, v-neck, ties at the shoulders and that overskirt back and front. It’s SO comfy.

I know this dress is going to feature a lot in the coming months! I decided to match gold with the deep navy blue of the dress, and found the perfect shoes, lurking, unworn in years in the wardrobe.

These blue and gold sandals are a LOT comfier than they look, and came from TopShop, probably about seven years ago!

I love them, but rarely wear them.

The gold clutch bag is, I think, from Shelley’s. Another really old piece from my wardrobe, I’d say it was about 11 years old this one. It has a big old chunky gold chain strap as well – my bling bag!

Jewellery wise, I got a couple of chunky bangles out of the green chest of drawers that houses all my jewellery (well, most of it). I can’t remember where the gold one is from, but the leopard print one is definitely an old Freedom at TopShop bangle. I painted my nails with some new gold and deep blue Estee Lauder nail polishes, and I was good to go. And my ring is also an old Freedom at TopShop one, deep blue, faceted plastic.

The brooch is one from a job lot of vintage from years ago – gorgeous blue stones. It’s very pretty and fitted perfectly with this outfit. Here’s those fabulous shoes again to finish!

Leave a Reply

