WIMW – a mixture

So, I don’t have the pictures I was planning on using for this week’s WIMW as they are on Mr GK’s iPhone, which is with him. So, here instead is a mixture of a few pictures of me in outfits I found in my Photo files, from the last few years or so!

First up, is an outfit I wore to a work event I think, one autumn evening back in 2010. My hair is a lot shorter, and up in a sort of vintage roll at the front. I like it! Sorry the picture is really not that great!

I’m wearing, from top to toe, vintage Astraka coat with fur collar, Armstrongs Vintage, Edinburgh, Scrabble necklace, as explained in another WIMW, Polka dot mini dress, River Island, pink vintage M&S cardigan, charity shop, vintage handbag, job lot of vintage, tights, the fabulous Bebaroque, boots, TopShop

In this picture I am off to the evening reception of a friend’s wedding. I tried to use a bit of fake tan to go bare-legged,and it was such a disaster it was a last minute dash into town to get a pair of tights that would suit this dress. You can just see they have a pattern to them and lovely little gold polka dots.

So, the tights are from Accessorize, cream and wood wedge shoes, oldies from TopShop, dress was a bargain on Ebay – £7! I love it, it’s my Peggy Olsen dress! Vintage brown leather bag, and pearls both, Mr Ben Vintage, Glasgow. I kinda like my hair here too – am toying with the idea of a fringe again.

So, this outfit is from who knows when? I do love a bit of red white and blue! Nothing to do with the Jubilee really, I just love the colour combo, and here it is again in the next two pictures!

It’s a bit of a dark picture this, I know. I do absolutely LOVE this skirt though – it’s a 1970s style Moto denim skirt form TopShop. I’ve had it for years, and it’s really worn well. My gorgeous red and cream t-bar shoes are from Office, my blue and white striped top is from Peacocks? The little cardigan is an old TopShop number that has to be thrown out soon though it’s just so worn! And the yellow brooch is explained in detail in this WIMW!

And so to the picture below – this shows off those shoes to their best – they’re pretty old, but rarely worn and in good condition. I love them. I’m wearing blue tights here, and the little bit of grey you can see is a cheap-as-chips grey cotton sundress from H&M. My lovely old bag is from Debenhams, many moons ago in the sale!

And finally, this outfit is one of my favourite dresses in my whole wardrobe. I am scared I am going to wear it too much and wreck it. It is vintage after all. I bought it on Ebay for Christmas 2008.

I needed something sparkly in my life. It was about £15. On this occasion, about three years after I bought the dress  (still going strong!), I was off to a gig, and then on to a friend’s party, with an ‘eccentric glamour’ dress code. The bag is explained above. I figured trainers worked well for the gig, and the dress code!

The trainers are Adidas Rom. I bought the on my 30th birthday in Nice, France, and I am still wearing them even though they now have a hole on the top of the right foot. They’ve been washed countless times, and I absolutely adore them, and cannot bear to be parted. I’ve never seen a pair I love as much since. Any help locating a pair similar, much appreciated!

Which outfit do you like the best? I think I love the wedding outfit, because it’s quite different for me!

Leave a Reply

