Soaps, soaps, soaps!

I love soaps! In a former life I was a soap columnist for the Daily Record, and I loved it. I’ve visited Coronation Street and Emmerdale, and interviewed stars from most of the soaps on UK TV. I CANNOT WAIT for the new Dallas to hit our screens this year, I adore watching re-runs of Dynasty and Dallas on satellite channels, and…I even watch EastEnders!

I gave up on Emmerdale and Hollyoaks a while ago, but I still faithfully tune in to Easties and Corrie. It’s hardly surprising; I was one of the few who watched, and enjoyed Eldorado (Google it!) In fact, small soap fact – Polly Perkins who plays Rose Cotton in EastEnders was Trish Valentine in Eldorado, don’t you know?!

One soap I have missed out so far is my local Scottish soap, River City. I’m heading out to the football tonight, so the Sky+ will be set to record the soap set in Shieldinch, the fictional area of Glasgow.

Murray and Raymond have fun in the pub...

Tonight’s episode seems to centre on Tattie, who is tiring of trying to help Big Bob lose weight. Is this for real? Are they going to actually get this actor to lose weight? He could certainly do with shifting some. Anyway, it’s one of those annoying episodes tonight I think when it’s all about characters we don’t know, and new characters, like Will, the policeman who is getting it on with Robbie. The humour tonight comes from Eileen and Gina and Raymond and Murray, and some dating disasters.

The humour last week came from Kelly-Marie paying £22.50 for some cheap fizzy plonk in The Tall Ship, and lamenting the fact the ‘Minute Mart’ wasn’t open yet. Never heard of Asda or Tesco? Oddbins? I love how in soaps, nothing happens outside the radius of the area the characters live in. Bianca couldn’t find a job in Walford, so that was it…she resorted to stealing, and ended up back in jail.

Get back to Shieldinch...Will ventures too far...

That’s Walford, London. London. Huge capital city. Lots of jobs. Note to soap characters – leave your locale from time to time! Of course, this is where we have to suspend disbelief. How many times have I said to my other half whilst forcing him to watch, ‘it’s a soap, remember‘, whilst he rants on about the ridiculousness of the plot/situation.

There is a great thread on the Digital Spy Forum called Coronation Street – Suspension of Reality, where you can have a good old moan about the nonsense in soaps. And there is a lot of that. But what would we do without them?!

River City, BBC1 Scotland, Tuesdays, 8pm,  viewers outside Scotland can access it on Sky Channel 971, Freesat Channel 960, Virgin Media Channel 862 or the BBC’s iPlayer service – bbc.co.uk/iplayer

One thought on “Soaps, soaps, soaps!

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have truly loved surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

