One Pot Chicken and Couscous

Every Monday I’ll bring you a recipe, or something that I’ve eaten out, or someone’s recommendation for some good food! I love cooking. I love eating too. (This is a problem, because I hate exercising, hence my expanded waistline since my skinny twentysomething days!)

This recipe, for One Pot Chicken and Couscous,  is one I found at the BBC Good Food website. I’ve adapted it a little to suit my own tastes. It’s really simple, but there are quite a few steps involved, which make it seem a bit more complicated than it really is. It also feeds my current obsession with couscous!

Ingredients

Eight skin on, bone-in, chicken thighs or a mix of thighs and drumsticks

Two teaspoons of turmeric

One tablespoon of garam masala

One teaspoon of ground cumin

One teaspoon of ground coriander

Two tablespoons of olive oil

Two onions, finely sliced

Three garlic cloves, sliced

500ml chicken stock

large handful of green olives

zest and juice of one lemon

250g couscous

small bunch of coriander, chopped

Method

So, first of all toss the chicken pieces in half of the spices, add a pinch of salt, and make sure they are completely coated. Next, heat one tablespoon of oil in a large  sauté pan . Fry the chicken, skin-side down, for 10 mins until golden brown, turn over, then cook for 2 mins before removing from the pan (1.).(My saute pan does not have a lid, like the original recipe asks for. I just used foil, and cooked in oven rather than on hob, as I will explain!)

Next, pour the rest of the oil into the pan, then fry the onions and garlic for 8 mins until golden. Then stir in the rest of the spices, then cook for 1 min longer (2.). Pour over the chicken stock and scatter in the olives (3.). Bring everything to the boil, turn down the heat, then sit the chicken, skin-side up, in the stock (4.).

Now I covered the pan with my foil, and popped into the oven for 40 minutes at 180 C rather than cook on the hob,. The chicken will then be very tender. Once out the oven, take the chicken out again, and pop it on a plate or a dish, and put it back into the oven to keep warm (just turn the oven down a touch).  Stir the lemon juice and couscous into the saucy onions in the pan and top up with enough boiling water just to cover the couscous if you need to – I didn’t need any extra water the second time I made this, but did the first time. Who knows?! Then cover the pan back up again with the foil, and leave for about 5 mins until the couscous is cooked through. Then fluff through half the coriander and the lemon zest (5.), and then serve with the chicken sitting on top (6.). And enjoy!

4 thoughts on “One Pot Chicken and Couscous

Leave a Reply

